Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair smash centuries as Karnataka rout Odisha


Mayank Agarwal
Mayank Agarwal

The inform Mayank Agarwal and Karun Nair slammed centuries to power Karnataka to a crushing 133-run win over Odisha in the Vijay Hazare Trophy Group 'A' match yesterday. Coming into the game after a loss to Punjab, Karnataka piled up 353 for 6 in 50 overs after being put in and bowled Odisha out for 220 in 41 overs. In other Group 'A' games, Baroda beat Railways by 192 runs and Punjab beat Assam by 69 runs.

Agarwal and Nair added 190 for the opening wicket to put Karnataka on track for a big score. Agarwal scored 102 from 94 balls with two sixes and ten fours while Nair hit 100 from 111 deliveries with 12 fours.

Pavan Deshpande hammered an unbeaten 54 from 37 balls, while K Gowtham contributed with 47 from 20 balls to swell Karnataka's total. Odisha began well as Rajesh Dhuper (53) and Anurag Sarangi (58) came up with half centuries each to lay an ideal platform. However, Suchith (5 for 34) spun a web around the Odisha batsmen to send them hurtling to defeat.

Catch up on all the latest sports news and updates here

Download the new mid-day Android and iOS apps to get updates on all the latest and trending stories on the go